548 Union Street | San Francisco, CA 94133 | Mon - Sat 10a - 4p | 415-242-5590

FREE DELIVERY*. NO MINIMUM. THROUGH September 30th.
Curbside Pickup now available.

Best Italian Novels

The Best Italian Novels and literature works from early XIII century to XXI

The Name of the Rose Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544176560
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - April 22nd, 2014

An international sensation and winner of the Premio Strega and the Prix Médicis Étranger awards

The year is 1327. Benedictines in a wealthy Italian abbey are suspected of heresy, and Brother William of Baskerville arrives to investigate. When his delicate mission is suddenly overshadowed by seven bizarre deaths, Brother William turns detective.


The Decameron Cover Image
By Giovanni Boccaccio, G. H. McWilliam (Translated by), G. H. McWilliam (Introduction by), G. H. McWilliam (Notes by)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780140449303
Availability: Backordered
Published: Penguin Classics - April 29th, 2003

The Decameron reads in some ways as a guide to social distancing and self-isolation.” The New York Times

“The 14th-century Italian book that shows us how to survive coronavirus.” New Statesman


Zeno's Conscience: A Novel (Vintage International) Cover Image
By Italo Svevo, William Weaver (Translated by), Elizabeth Hardwick (Preface by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9780375727764
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - February 4th, 2003

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind.


The Leopard: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780375714795
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pantheon - November 6th, 2007

Set in the 1860s, The Leopard tells the spellbinding story of a decadent, dying Sicilian aristocracy threatened by the approaching forces of democracy and revolution.


If on a winter's night a traveler Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780156439619
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - October 20th, 1982

Italo Calvino imagines a novel capable of endless mutations in this intricately crafted story about writing and readers.

 

If on a Winter's Night a Traveler turns out to be not one novel but ten, each with a different plot, style, ambience, and author, and each interrupted at a moment of suspense.


The Inferno Cover Image
By Dante Alighieri, John Ciardi (Translated by), Archibald T. MacAllister (Introduction by), Edward M. Cifelli (Afterword by)
$5.95
ISBN: 9780451531391
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Signet - October 6th, 2009

Belonging in the immortal company of the works of Homer, Virgil, Milton, and Shakespeare, Dante Alighieri’s poetic masterpiece is a visionary journey that takes readers through the torment of Hell.


The Divine Comedy: Inferno, Purgatorio, Paradiso Cover Image
By Dante Alighieri, Robin Kirkpatrick (Introduction by), Robin Kirkpatrick (Translated by), Robin Kirkpatrick (Notes by)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780141197494
Availability: Backordered
Published: Penguin Classics - March 25th, 2014

A stunning 3-in-1 edition of one of the great works of Western literature


Orlando Furioso (Oxford World's Classics) Cover Image
By Ludovico Ariosto, Guido Waldman (Translator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9780199540389
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Oxford University Press, USA - August 1st, 2008

The only unabridged prose translation of Ariosto's Orlando Furioso--a witty parody of the chivalric legends of Charlemagne and the Saracen invasion of France--this version faithfully recaptures the entire narrative and the subtle meanings behind it.


Christ Stopped at Eboli: The Story of a Year (FSG Classics) Cover Image
By Carlo Levi, Frances Frenaye (Translated by), Mark Rotella (Introduction by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780374530099
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - January 10th, 2006

It was to Lucania, a desolate land in southern Italy, that Carlo Levi—a doctor, painter, philosopher, and man of letters—was confined as a political prisoner because of his opposition to Italy's Fascist government at the start of the Ethiopian war in 1935.


Adventures of Pinocchio, The [Ilustrated with Interactive Elements] Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780062905277
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Design - April 14th, 2020

The enduring children’s tale The Adventures of Pinocchio, retold for a new generation in this spectacular full-color deluxe gift edition, packed with beautiful artwork and seven interactive features created by the award-winning design studio behind the graphics for the Harry Potter film franchise, MinaLima.

Originally published in 1883, The Adventure


The Garden of the Finzi-Continis (Everyman's Library Contemporary Classics Series) Cover Image
By Giorgio Bassani, William Weaver (Translated by), Tim Parks (Introduction by)
$23.00
ISBN: 9781400044221
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Everyman's Library - July 19th, 2005

Giorgio Bassani’s acclaimed novel of unrequited love and the plight of the Italian Jews on the brink of World War II has become a classic of modern Italian literature.

 


The Solitude of Prime Numbers: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143118596
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - March 29th, 2011

"Mesmerizing...an exquisite rendering of what one might call feelings at the subatomic level." -The New York Times

From the author of Heaven and Earth, a sensational novel about whether a "prime number" can ever truly connect with someone else 


The Late Mattia Pascal Cover Image
By Luigi Pirandello, Charles Simic (Introduction by), William Weaver (Translated by)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781590171158
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: NYRB Classics - November 30th, 2004

Mattia Pascal endures a life of drudgery in a provincial town. Then, providentially, he discovers that he has been declared dead. Realizing he has a chance to start over, to do it right this time, he moves to a new city, adopts a new name, and a new course of life—only to find that this new existence is as insufferable as the old one.


The Paradiso Cover Image
By Dante Alighieri, John Ciardi (Translated by), John Freccero (Introduction by), Edward M. Cifelli (Afterword by)
$7.95
ISBN: 9780451531414
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Signet - October 6th, 2009

In The Paradiso, Dante explores the goal of human striving: the merging of individual destiny with universal order. One of the towering creations of world literature, this epic discovery of truth is a work of mystical intensity? an immortal hymn to God, Nature, Eternity, and Love.


The Purgatorio Cover Image
By Dante Alighieri, John Ciardi (Translated by), Archibald T. MacAllister (Introduction by), Edward M. Cifelli (Afterword by)
$8.95
ISBN: 9780451531421
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Signet - October 6th, 2009

In The Purgatorio, Dante describes his journey to the renunciation of sin, accepting his suffering in preparation for his coming into the presence of God. This brilliant translation of Dante?s canticle crystallizes the great poet?s immortal conception of the aspiring soul.


The Prince (A Penguin Classics Hardcover) Cover Image
By Niccolo Machiavelli, Tim Parks (Translated by), Tim Parks (Introduction by), Coralie Bickford-Smith (Illustrator)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780141395876
Availability: Backordered
Published: Penguin Classics - April 28th, 2015

A new series of beautiful hardcover nonfiction classics, with covers designed by Coralie Bickford-Smith


Survival In Auschwitz Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780684826806
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - September 1st, 1995

The true and harrowing account of Primo Levi’s experience at the German concentration camp of Auschwitz and his miraculous survival; hailed by The Times Literary Supplement as a “true work of art, this edition includes an exclusive conversation between the author and Philip Roth.

In 1943, Primo Levi, a twenty-five-year-old chemist and “Italian citizen of Jewish race


The Liberation of Jerusalem (Oxford World's Classics) Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780199535354
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Oxford University Press, USA - April 1st, 2009

In The Liberation of Jerusalem (1581), Torquato Tasso set out to write an epic to rival the Iliad and the Aeneid. Unlike his predecessors, he took his subject not from myth but from history: the Christian capture of Jerusalem during the First Crusade.