1501 Grant Avenue | San Francisco, CA 94133 | Mon - Sat 10a - 4p | 415-242-5590

FREE DELIVERY*. NO MINIMUM. THROUGH February 28th.
Curbside Pickup now available.

Murder for the Modern Girl (Hardcover)

Murder for the Modern Girl By Kendall Kulper Cover Image
$19.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Gatsby-era glamour, a swoon-worthy love story, and an indomitable heroine dazzle in this romp that captures the extravagance of the Roaring Twenties and the dangers of vigilante justice.

A ravishing young mind reader stalks the streets at night in kitten heels, prowling for men to murder.

A soft-spoken genius toils away in the city morgue, desperate to unearth the science behind his gift for shapeshifting.

It’s a match made in 1928 Chicago, where gangsters run City Hall, jazz fills the air, and every good girl’s purse conceals a flask.

Until now, eighteen-year-old Ruby’s penchant for poison has been a secret. No one knows that she uses her mind-reading abilities to target men who prey on vulnerable women, men who escape the clutches of Chicago “justice.” When she meets a brilliant boy working at the morgue, his knack for forensic detail threatens to uncover her dark hobby. Even more unfortunately: sharp, independent Ruby has fallen in love with him.
 
Waltzing between a supernaturally enhanced romance, the battle to take down a gentleman’s club, and loyal friendships worth their weight in diamonds, Ruby brings defiant charm to every page of Murder for the Modern Girl—not to mention killer fashion. An irresistible caper perfect for fans of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, in an exquisite hardcover package with rose-gold foil.
 
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

About the Author


Kendall Kulper is an author living in Cambridge, MA. She writes historical fantasy for young adult readers and has published two novels, Salt & Storm (YALSA Best Books for Young Adults, Junior Library Guild Selection) and Drift & Dagger (JLG Selection), and a novella, Saltwater Heart. Murder for the Modern Girl (JLG Selection) is her first book with Holiday House. She graduated from Harvard University with an honors degree in History & Literature and lives with her husband, two daughters, and much-Instagrammed dog, Abby.

Praise For…


★ "An exciting, slightly supernatural romp through the glitzy, glamorous Chicago of the Roaring Twenties. . . . Kendall Kulper (Salt & Storm) upends the conventions of a traditional noir caper with a story of a femme fatale heroine who kills to protect vulnerable women. . . . Guy is a romantic lead who embodies non-toxic masculinity; his relationship with Ruby is both swoon-worthy and built upon mutual respect. Fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners series should enjoy this feminist and fantasy-tinged historical mystery."Shelf Awareness, Starred Review

★ "This supernatural noir thriller is serving up the very best the genre has to offer: unsavory characters, dark humor, sordid secrets, and an intrepid femme fatale anti-heroine who charms as a red-headed, murderous flapper version of Legally Blonde’s Elle Woods. . . . The historical world-building is immersive, with the slang-filled narration and dialogue being a highlight. . . . The gripping plot escalates with the thrills, culminating in a violent whirlwind of a happy ending."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, Starred Review

"An effervescent champagne cocktail of a novel that packs a delightful punch."—Booklist

"Noir turned merrily upside down."—Kirkus Reviews

"An interesting blend of historical fiction, crime drama, and fantasy, steeped in danger and scheming."—School Library Journal

"As the bodies pile up, readers will be breathless to witness the final showdown. Fast-paced; glamorously chaotic; and, with its grisly undertones, somewhat uncomfortably unforgettable."—The Horn Book

"Kulper (the Salt & Storm series) delivers a glitzy, adrenaline-fueled crime novel brimming with formidable women."Publishers Weekly

"An engaging, page-turning mystery that crackles with the wit and shimmering style of the 1920s. Shiny and dark, funny and grim, and populated by lovable, charming characters that leap off the page, grab you by the hand, and lead you onto the dance floor. The most fun book about murder you'll ever read." —Mackenzi Lee, New York Times bestselling author of The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

"Kendall Kulper’s whip-smart romp through 1920s Chicago has it all—mystery, romance, a killer wardrobe, and a vibrant cast headlined by the indomitable, irresistible Ruby Newhouse. A deliciously dazzling page-turner you’ll devour in one sitting." —Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

"A devilishly plotted page-turner that sparkles with wit and romance. Murder and mayhem have never been so fun!" —Lisa Maxwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Magician


Product Details
ISBN: 9780823449729
ISBN-10: 0823449726
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication Date: May 31st, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English